Governors Bay is named after Governor George Grey who legend would have it, moored his ship in our Bay when visiting the Canterbury Settlement as he was well liked by many in the main township of Lyttelton.  This way well be a fable as there is no evidence to suggest this ever happened  It was also known as Dyers Bay prior to this after John Dyer who helped engineer Dyers Pass and had a guesthouse called Waitahuna which is a grand house not far from the hotel still in existence.  The original Maori name for this area is Otoromiro which has a nice ring to it and given the current environment where colonialists such as Grey are being questioned we might one day rename the hotel, the Otoromiro in respect to the original inhabitants.

In the late 19th century there were 3 competing hotels in the Bay 

Ocean View Family Hotel

Thomas Butler 1872

John Burrell 1874

Alexander McMillan 1875

J.E. Fitzgerald 1876

Thomas Blythe 1876 -77

Samuel Neale 1877

Frederick Bashford 1879

Mr Pymm 1881

H. Kennedy 1884

C. Hill 1884

M. Clarke 1889

A. Constable 1892 – 97

Thomas Daly 1898

Joseph Bower 1898-1902

E.J. Brownie 1903

J.R. Couzens 1904

T.P. Fox 1904-1905

John Jackson 1907

Peter Hartshorn 1907-1908

George Parsons 1908-1909

Daniel J. Kelleher 1910-11

W.J.A. Clay 1912-1913

Alan Vincent Dodd 1913

Alfred Isherwood 1914 -1916

G.R. Whittington 1917

Peter Bamford 1918-1921

Arthur Wellwood 1922-1923

C. Holland 1923-24

H.J. Jack ?

G.L. Columbus 1925-1927

Stewart Peters 1928
Jack Steel

Roy Scott

Ron McGee

Tom Blumsky

Dave Rogers 1940-1965
Lance Haywood 1965

Pat & Judy McCarthy 1965-1975

Smugglers Arms

Dave Sturrock

Julie Adams

Dave Fraser

Ron Smart

Neville Cowles

Tony Leconte


Governors Bay Hotel

Tony Adcock 2000-2003

Jeremy & Clare Dyer 2003-2020

Otoromiro Hotel?

Jeremy & Clare Dyer 2020 - present

Book Now
You're running a web browser we don't fully support. Please upgrade it for a better experience.
Our site works best with Google Chrome.
How to upgrade the browser